Asking for Help

I’m not very good at asking for help. My pride, my ego, gets in the way and I have to learn to let it go. I am not my pride. I am not my ego.

I am, however, a 44 year old woman with two Littles and not the energy I had as a 20 something year old.

2010. I remember going into Costco with my five kids fresh off the plane from Australia. We were off to buy a novelty, something I never had to do before – buy snowsuits for five little kids. Three of them weren’t wearing shoes, one was two young for them and the one who remembered was the one I wanted in the trolley.

And I managed.

Today I had the two Littles and I couldn’t get a parking space near enough to the front door. I nursed my baby in the front seat and put her back in the car seat and turned around. I was all done. I couldn’t do it. I was defeated by the distance to the front door.

But. But I reached out for help and that is huge for me. My Constant’s mom will watch the Littles on Thursday mornings and today my Constant will do the shoppings I couldn’t.

It’s a defeat in one sense but that’s my ego talking. It’s also an acceptance of my limitations and that’s my good side talking. The part of me that needs a louder voice.

And I am reminded that I am blessed and that I am not doing this life journey on my own. I have cheerleaders and people who are willing to step up and step in when needed.

And now, I will have a nap. Because I am blessed with people who let me do that.

D

Leave a comment